GPC Announces the Shortlisted Companies tor The 2023 Excellence in Governance Awards

Toronto, Ontario - (September 22, 2023) Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC) is delighted to announce the shortlisted companies for the highly anticipated 2023 Excellence in Governance Awards (EGAs). The EGAs are now in their 10th year of recognizing and celebrating outstanding achievements in governance within Canadian organizations across various sectors. This year's shortlisted companies represent a diverse range of industries, demonstrating a commitment to excellence in governance practices. GPC’s EGA award judges are proud to present the shortlisted companies/individuals in each category:

  1. Board/Director Effectiveness
    • TMX Group Limited
    • Edmonton Airport
    • Calgary West Central Primary Care Network
    • Federated Cooperatives Limited
    • Vancouver Foundation
  2. Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
    • BoardShift Program, CivicAction Leadership Foundation
    • Vancouver Airport Authority
    • Hydro One Limited
  3. Stakeholder Engagement
    • TMX Group Limited
    • Alberta Municipalities
    • Barrick Gold Corporation
  4. ESG/Sustainability/Purpose
    • British Columbia Automobile Association
    • Vancouver Airport Authority
    • TD Bank Group
  5. Organizational Governance
    • Alberta Investment Management Corporation
    • Ontario Securities Commission
    • The Fertility Partners Inc.
    • HSBC Bank Canada
GPC congratulates all the shortlisted companies for their exceptional dedication to governance excellence who serve as role models for the Canadian business community, inspiring others to elevate their governance standards. We also acknowledge the dedication and effort invested in the EGA nomination process and commend those organizations that have stepped forward to be recognized for their commitment to good governance.


GPC would like to thank the following shortlisting judges, who volunteered their time and effort to review all of the submissions:

  1. Jodi Butts, Partner, WATSON Inc.
  2. Leanne Hull, Associate General Counsel and Director of Employment, Pension and Compensation Law, Legal & Regulatory Compliance, BMO Financial Group 
  3. Wendy King, Senior Vice President, Risk, ESG, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Capstone Mining Corp.
  4.  Jamie Patterson, Associate Corporate Counsel, SaskTel 
  5. Coro Strandberg, President, Strandberg Consulting Inc.
  6. Terri Uhrich, Vice President, Legal & General Counsel, Foran Mining 
  7. Kevin West, Founder, Skylaw

As well as our respected panel of final judges composed of seasoned governance experts across Canada:

  1. Geoffrey D. Creighton, Chief Executive Officer, In-House Counsel Worldwide
  2. Sylvia Groves, President, Governance Studio
  3. Neil Puddicombe, Associate General Counsel, Bank Board Governance & Assistant Corporate Secretary, BMO Financial Group
  4. Deborah Rosati, Founder & CEO, Women Get On Board Inc.
  5. Stephen Rotstein, Bencher, Law Society of Ontario
  6. Terri Uhrich, Vice President, Legal & General Counsel, Foran Mining

The winners in each category will be announced at the 10th Excellence in Governance Awards ceremony, which will take place on November 8th at the prestigious Carlu in Toronto.

Sign up to GPC’s official mailing list to receive the latest updates and details on the EGAs HERE and register now for the 2023 Awards Gala and Ceremony HERE.


Lynn Beauregard, President
Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC)


Governance Voice is the official podcast platform of Governance Professionals of Canada and provides a view on critical insights, news, trends, and challenges in the ever-evolving world of corporate governance. This monthly podcast hosts compelling conversations and information on governance with leading experts.