NOT A Member Yet?        Join us

2019 Excellence in Governance Awards Shortlisted Announcement

21 Aug 2019 1:43 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

[August 20, 2019] The Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC) announced the shortlist for the 2019 Excellence in Governance Awards/Prix d'excellence en gouvernance (EGAs), at its 21st annual conference in Québec City, Québec.

Lynn Beauregard, President, Governance Professionals of Canada says "The entire process building up to the annual Excellence in Governance Awards ceremony has become a labour of love for GPC. To see that our efforts to push governance to higher levels are reverberating and making a mark through these awards is truly rewarding. We want to express our gratitude to all of the organizations who have submitted nominations and are committed to their governance efforts. Each submission exemplifies what ‘next generation governance’ is all about, and each nominee is a trailblazer in resilience, agility and innovation, and I sincerely congratulate the 2019 shortlisted nominees.”

Shortlisting judge Terri Ulrich also comments: “Having completed another year of shortlisting review for the GPC Excellence in Governance Awards, I was particularly struck by the quality of the submissions and the excellence in governance that companies are displaying.  To give credit where it is due, however, I think it should be recognized that this consistent excellence is largely generated by the work that GPC does.  The organization has provided a public lens to see the best governance practices, and organizations working towards good governance practices can only benefit from this lens.  Every year the judging gets harder and harder due to the high quality of the submissions, the candidates and the excellent work they are doing. “

“I want to take this opportunity to acknowledge the role that GPC is playing in the constant improvement of submissions and in the corresponding governance of Canadian organizations.  You should be proud of the work you do.  Thank you again for allowing me to participate – I think I learn far more than I contribute.  I look forward to seeing the list of winners in November!”

The winners will be announced at the EGAs gala dinner on Thursday, November 7, 2019 at The Carlu in Toronto.

GPC received around 70 nominations this year from organizations across all sectors. The shortlisted nominees, organized by category, are presented below:

1. Best Practice in Enterprise Risk Management
  • Meridian Credit Union
  • PSP Investments
  • Royal Bank of Canada
2. Best Practice in Sustainability and ESG
  • Vancouver Airport Authority
  • BMO Financial Group
  • The Co-operators
3. Best Approach to Achieving Effective Board and Committee Operations
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Ottawa Community Housing Corporation
  • Meridian Credit Union
  • HSBC Bank Canada
4. Best Practices in Diversity and Inclusion
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • BMO Financial Group
  • Vancouver Airport Authority
  • Manulife
5.  Best Practices in Strategic Planning, Oversight and Value Creation by the Board
  • Farm Mutual Reinsurance Plan Inc.
  • Elixir Technology
  • Royal Bank of Canada
6. Best Engagement by a Governance Team
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • Calgary West Central Primary Care Network
  • Interac Corp.
7. Best Compensation Disclosure and Communication
  • Manulife
  • Algonquin Power & Utilities Corp.
  • Seven Generations Energy Ltd.
8. Best Practices in Subsidiary Governance
  • BMO  Financial Group
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • HSBC Bank Canada
9. Best Overall Corporate Governance
  • BMO Financial Group
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Central 1 Credit Union

GPC thanks the following individuals who volunteered a considerable amount of time and effort in reviewing all of the submissions for the shortlist:

  1. Leanne Hull, Senior Counsel, Bank of Montreal
  2. Wendy King, Vice President, Legal, Risk & Governance, Capstone Mining Corp.
  3. Denis Lavoie, Director, Risks, Insurance and Claims, VIA Rail Canada Inc.
  4. Jamie Patterson, Lawyer, SaskTel
  5. Neil Puddicombe, Associate General Counsel and Director of Subsidiary Governance, Legal, Corporate & Compliance Group, BMO Financial Group
  6. Stephen Rotstein, Vice-President, Policy & Regulatory Affairs & General Counsel, Financial Planning Standards Council (FPSC)
  7. Christie Stephenson, Executive Director, Peter P. Dhillon Centre for Business Ethics, UBC Sauder School of Business
  8. Alena Thouin, Deputy General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario
  9. Terri Uhrich, General Counsel, Legal Branch, Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan

To attend the awards ceremony, you can purchase tickets on the GPC website:

As the principal advocate for those who work in corporate governance, GPC strives to enhance the public's awareness of the importance of good governance. GPC is the voice of corporate governance professionals in Canada and participates with other stakeholders, including capital markets participants, government bodies and regulators, in fostering a governance environment that sets Canada apart in the world. GPC supports its membership with continuing education and networking opportunities that are second to none.

Official Partner of GPC

Governance Professionals of Canada - 21 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 802, Toronto, ON M4T 1L9
TEL: (416) 921-5449/1-800-774-2850 | FAX (416) 967-6320 | | 

© 2016 Governance Professionals of Canada

Terms of Use   |   Contact

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software