• Home
  • News & Resources
  • News
  • Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC) Announces Winners of the Fourth Annual Excellence in Governance Awards (EGAs)

Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC) Announces Winners of the Fourth Annual Excellence in Governance Awards (EGAs)

17 Nov 2016 9:55 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

TORONTO, Nov. 16, 2016 – Governance Professionals of Canada (“GPC”) handed out the fourth Annual Excellence in Governance Awards (“EGAs”) last night at their dinner and ceremony held at The Carlu in Toronto, attended by over 300 people.

The winners in each category are as follows:

  1. Best Practices in Enterprise Risk Management: Vancouver Airport Authority (YVR)
  2. Best Practices in Sustainability and Environmental, Social and Governance: The Co-operators
  3. Best Approach to Achieving Effective Board and Committee Operations: RBC
  4. Best Practices to Enhance Boardroom Diversity: Goldcorp Inc.
  5. Best Practices in Strategic Planning, Oversight and Value Creation by the Board: TransCanada Corp.
  6. Best Engagement by a Governance Team: Manulife Financial Corp. and Gore Mutual Insurance Co.
  7. Best Pay for Performance: MEG Energy Corp.
  8. Best Overall Governance: the Canadian National Railway Co. (CN Rail) and ATB Financial
  9. Peter Dey Governance Achievement Award: Kathleen (Katie) Taylor, Chair of the Board, RBC

The Excellence in Governance Winners at last night's ceremony and dinner.

Top L to R: Grant Borbridge, MEG Energy; Cristina Circelli, CN Rail; Karen McCarthy, RBC; Kathleen Taylor, RBC; Sonya Stark, Gore Mutual; Rejean Laflamme, The Co-operators; Meghan Lindsay, TransCanada; Antonella Deo, Manulife Financial.

Bottom L to R: Stuart McKellar, ATB; Glenn McCoy, YVR; Phil Baudin,The Co-operators; and John Mullally, Goldcorp.

The final award winners were chosen out of nominations from across Canada in all sectors and markets by a jury panel composed of seasoned and well-respected governance experts. For more on the panel: http://gpcanada.org/EGA_judges/.

GPC President Lynn Beauregard states, “The Excellence in Governance Award winners deserve to be celebrated for promoting and practicing good governance in their organizations. The EGAs recognize excellence across all organizations from public to private, not for profit, crown and others, to reinforce that transparency, accountability and strong governance frameworks should be a priority for all Canadian organizations”.

GPC is recognized as the most important organization for corporate governance professionals in Canada. As the principal advocate for those who work in corporate governance, GPC strives to enhance the public's awareness of the importance of good governance. GPC is the voice of corporate governance professionals in Canada and participates with other stakeholders, including capital markets participants, government bodies and regulators, in fostering a governance environment that sets Canada apart from the world. GPC supports its membership with continuing education and networking opportunities that are second to none.

For further information:

Lynn Beauregard, President
416-921-5449 ext. 306

NOT A Member Yet?        Join us

Official Partner of GPC

Governance Professionals of Canada - 21 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 802, Toronto, ON M4T 1L9
TEL: (416) 921-5449/1-800-774-2850 | FAX (416) 967-6320 | info@gpcanada.org |www.gpcanada.org 

© 2016 Governance Professionals of Canada

Terms of Use   |   Contact

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software