• Home
  • News & Resources
  • News
  • Canadian Society of Corporate Secretaries (CSCS) Excellence in Governance Awards (EGs) shortlist announced

Canadian Society of Corporate Secretaries (CSCS) Excellence in Governance Awards (EGs) shortlist announced

18 Jun 2015 12:09 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

The Canadian Society of Corporate Secretaries ("CSCS") is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2015 Excellence in Governance Awards/Prix d'excellence en gouvernance (EGs). We received over 80 nominations this year from organizations across all sectors and the shortlisted nominees, organized by category, are presented below:

  1. Best sustainability, ethics and environmental governance program
    • BCE Inc.
    • Cameco Corporation
    • Greater Toronto Airports Authority
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • Tahoe Resources Inc.
  2. Best use of technology in governance, risk and compliance
    • Mitel Networks Corporation
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • Saskatchewan Research Council
  3. Best approach to board and committee support
    • First West Credit Union
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • The Co-operators
    • University of Calgary
  4. Best stakeholder engagement by a governance team
    • Canadian Blood Services
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • TD Bank Group
    • WestJet Airlines Ltd.
  5. Best practices to enhance boardroom diversity
    • Canada Council for the Arts
    • Greater Toronto Airports Authority
    • HSBC Bank Canada
    • MTS Allstream
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • Telus
  6. Best practices in strategic planning, oversight and value creation by the board
    • Associated Engineering Group Ltd.
    • ATB Financial
    • CBC Pension Plan
    • Royal Bank of Canada
  7. Best overall corporate governance
    • Bank of Montreal
    • CN
    • Goldcorp Inc.
    • Royal Bank of Canada

We thank the following individuals who volunteered a considerable amount of time and effort in reviewing all of the submissions for the shortlist: Wendy King, Vice President, Legal, Risk & Governance, Capstone Mining Corp.; Jamie Patterson, Corporate Counsel, Group Medical Services; Brendan Sheehan, Founder and President, The Illawong Group, Christine Staley, Director of Professional Development, Canadian Corporate Counsel Association; Sheldon Stener, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Federated Co-operatives Limited; Terri Uhrich, Vice President, Legal Affairs, K+S Potash Canada.

The Excellence in Governance Awards final jury panel is composed of seasoned and well-respected governance experts from across Canada and include:

  1. Geoffrey D. Creighton, President, In-house Counsel Worldwide
  2. Gigi Dawe, Principal, Research Guidance and Support Leader, Corporate Oversight and Governance, CPA Canada
  3. Sylvia Groves, President and Creative Director, Governance Studio
  4. Richard Leblanc, Associate Professor, Law, Governance & Ethics, Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies, York University
  5. Carrie Mandel, Lawyer and Consultant, North American Legal, Compliance and Regulatory Practice, Spencer Stuart
  6. Paul Schneider, Manager, Corporate Governance, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (OTPP)
  7. Elizabeth Watson, QC, Founder and President, Watson Inc.

The final award winners will be announced and celebrated on August 16, 2015 in Montreal, Quebec at the CSCS' 17th Annual Conference.

NOT A Member Yet?        Join us

Official Partner of GPC

Governance Professionals of Canada - 21 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 802, Toronto, ON M4T 1L9
TEL: (416) 921-5449/1-800-774-2850 | FAX (416) 967-6320 | info@gpcanada.org |www.gpcanada.org 

© 2016 Governance Professionals of Canada

Terms of Use   |   Contact

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software