CSCS announces its judging panel for the inaugural Excellence in Governance Awards (EGs).

24 Jan 2013 11:00 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Toronto, ON (January 24, 2013)-The Canadian Society of Corporate Secretaries ("CSCS") announces an esteemed judging panel for the Excellence in Governance Awards/Prix d'excellence en gouvernance (EGs). The highly respected jury will select the winners for the awards which will be announced and celebrated on August 18, 2013 in Halifax, Nova Scotia at the opening dinner of the CSCS' 15th Annual Conference.


The Excellence in Governance Awards jury panel is composed of seasoned and well-respected governance thought leaders from across Canada. CSCS has carefully selected the judges to ensure representation from all aspects of the governance community including shareholder representatives, regulatory experts, leading academics and practitioners.

  • Gigi Dawe, Risk Oversight and Governance, and National Practice Area Leader, Governance, Strategy and Risk, CICA

  • Stephen Griggs, Director and past Executive Director of CCGG

  • Sylvia Groves, President and Creative Director, Governance Studio

  • Carol Hansell, Senior Partner, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP

  • Richard Leblanc, Associate Professor, Governance, Law & Ethics, Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies, York University

  • Carol McNamara, Vice President, Associate General Counsel and Secretary, Royal Bank of Canada

  • Paul Schneider, Manager, Corporate Governance, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (OTPP)

  • Elizabeth Watson, Q.C, President of Watson Inc.

These eight experts will be joined by Honorary Judge Peter Dey, Chairman, Paradigm Capital and judging facilitator Brendan Sheehan, Founder and President, The Illawong Group.


The CSCS EG Awards recognize the important contribution governance professionals make to the best practices that build shareholder and stakeholder value. The awards underscore the critical role that good governance plays in sustaining the value of Canada's public and private companies, crown corporations, government agencies, and not-for-profit organizations, and in contributing to Canada's economy, its services, and its capital markets.


Candidates eligible for nomination include individuals and/or teams of individuals who play a role in the governance of their organizations.. The call for nominations will open on February 15, 2013, the deadline for nominations is April 15, 2013, and the shortlist of finalists for the awards will be announced in early June, 2013.  

CSCS will seek nominations in the following award categories: 

  • Best sustainability, ethics and environmental governance programs

  • Best use of technology in governance, risk and compliance

  • Best approach to board and committee support

  • Best shareholder or stakeholder engagement by a governance team

  • Best overall corporate governance

  • Best approach to board diversity

  • Joyce Borden-Reed CSCS distinguished contribution award

  • Peter Dey Lifetime achievement award

CSCS expects that the recognition winners and nominees alike will gain from these awards will raise awareness for the key role played by governance professionals, further the reputation of their organizations, and inspire others to follow their example.

NOT A Member Yet?        Join us

Official Partner of GPC

Governance Professionals of Canada - 21 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 802, Toronto, ON M4T 1L9
TEL: (416) 921-5449/1-800-774-2850 | FAX (416) 967-6320 | | 

© 2016 Governance Professionals of Canada

Terms of Use   |   Contact

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software