2021 Excellence in Governance Award Winner

Toronto, November 4, 2021 – The Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC) announces the winners of the 2021 Excellence in Governance Awards (EGAs).

The Excellence in Governance Awards shines a light on the important contribution that governance professionals, their Boards and their companies make in terms of best practices that build and sustain stakeholder value in Canada. The prestigious awards recognize trailblazers for their ability to create impact and innovation in the Canadian governance realm.

GPC congratulates the 2021 EGA winners, organized by category, as presented below:

1. Board or Director Effectiveness

  • Meridian Credit Union

2. Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

  • HSBC Bank Canada

3. Executive Compensation

  • BMO Financial Group

4. Governance Office Matters

  • ATB Financial

5. Risk Management

  • Arthritis Society

6. Strategy

  • Ontario Power Generation

7. Sustainability

  • Enbridge Inc.
  • TELUS Corporation

8. Governance Professional of the Year

  • Bradley Chisholm, Chief Officer, Strategy and Governance, BCCNM
  • Jeremy Trickett, SVP, Chief Governance Officer, Canada Life and Great-West Lifeco

9. Peter Dey Governance Achievement Award

  • Sarah Kaplan, Professor of Strategic Management, Distinguished Professor of Gender and the Economy, Fellow of the Lee-Chin Institute

2021 EGA Judges Report

Loading video
Loading video
Loading video

The Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC) was created in 1994, shortly after the Dey Report was published by the TSX on ‘Where Are the Directors’. GPC‘s mandate is to be the voice of governance professionals in Canada. Its members deal with all matters affecting corporate governance, from board and committee processes, management and structure, disclosure, stakeholder engagement, legal and corporate compliance, as well as issues crucial to boards, their accountability and oversight.